Being charged with a sex crime is very serious, and conviction carries harsh penalties that will affect the rest of your life. Sex crimes carry a heavy stigma in society, and the mere accusation of having committed a sex crime is enough to taint your reputation. Being convicted of a sex crime has lifetime implications, including the strong possibility of costly fines, prison time and mandatory registration as a sex offender, where information regarding your offense and your location is included in a public database. Don’t leave your future and your freedom to chance. Contact our skillful Flint sex crimes lawyers at Christenson & Fiederlein, PC to devise a strategy for your defense.
According to Michigan Penal Code Section 720.520, those who are charged with committing sex crimes such as rape, sexual assault or sexual battery are accused of “Criminal Sexual Conduct” (CSC). Although each crime carries different penalties, they all involve the same basic acts of sexual contact obtained without consent through use of force, threats, intimidation and/or coercion. Sex crimes in Michigan are categorized by the level of force and intimidation used against the alleged victim, and CSC offenses are categorized into four degrees.
This is usually reserved for those convicted of rape of a minor, or where multiple offenders were involved in raping an adult male or female using force that led to injury. Victims may have been incapacitated from date rape drugs. The victim may also be unable to consent either because they are underage, have a mental or cognitive disability, or were intoxicated or unconscious at the time of the rape. Because first degree CSC is the most serious sexual offense you can be charged with in Michigan, punishments are severe, including life imprisonment and mandated lifetime registration as a sex offender.
Another felony, second degree CSC involves sexual contact without penetration and any of the other circumstances listed in a first-degree CSC. Second degree CSC offenses are punishable by up to 15 years in prison and mandatory sex offender registration.
This offense usually involves statutory rape, and the sexual penetration of teenagers younger than the age of legal consent, or adults with certain physical or mental disabilities. This serious felony offense is penalized by up to 15 years in prison and mandatory sex offender registration.
As the only misdemeanor CSC, fourth degree offenses are punishable by up to two years in prison as well as a fine up to $500. Examples of fourth degree CSC are prostitution and solicitation.
Most people convicted of CSC are required to register as a sex offender for life. Failing to do so as required is a criminal offense that can result in jail time and fines.
This serious felony crime involves the possession, production, financing, or distribution of material featuring the sexual abuse of minors. Conviction can meanl a lifetime prison sentence and extremely high fines.
At Christenson & Fiederlein, PC, we firmly believe any person charged with a sex crime is entitled to skillful criminal defense counsel. We offer defense for a variety of criminal charges to fight for the legal rights of our clients. Don’t lose hope; if you’ve been charged with a sex crime, we will help you fight for a favorable outcome to your case.
Your initial consultation with our Flint sex crime attorneys will be free and confidential. Call (810) 292-3115 right away or fill out our online contact form to book your appointment.